

Cabinet Government Administration and Expenditure Review Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Inland Revenue's February 2021 Transformation Update

Portfolio Revenue

On 18 February 2021, the Cabinet Government Administration and Expenditure Review Committee:

- **noted** that Inland Revenue will migrate paid parental leave, unclaimed money, New Zealand foreign trusts, and duties to new systems and processes on 1 March 2021;
- 2 **noted** that child support will migrate to new systems and processes in October 2021 based on current plans, and that Inland Revenue's eServices will be upgraded at the same time;
- noted that the Inland Revenue business transformation programme will close by 30 June 2022 after decommissioning of heritage systems and processes has been completed;
- 4 **noted** that, based on current plans, Inland Revenue will complete the programme within the approved funding envelope;
- authorised the Ministers of Finance and Revenue to reprioritise up to \$47 million of remaining transformation capital funding to support the integrity of the revenue system, including swapping surplus capital into operating expenditure;
- 6 **noted** that for 2019/20, Inland Revenue has achieved seven out of the ten indicators tracking achievement of the investment objectives for transformation and that the review completed by the Auditor General confirms the good progress made to date;
- 7 **noted** there are opportunities to maximise the investment made in transformation and that the optimal timing will be from early to the middle of the 2022 calendar year to ensure the programme can successfully complete its remaining deliverables;
- 8 **noted** the next progress update will be provided to Cabinet by July 2021.

Catherine Parkin Committee Secretary

Distribution: (see over)

Present:

Hon Grant Robertson (Chair)

Hon Chris Hipkins

Hon David Parker (part of item)

Hon Nanaia Mahuta

Hon Stuart Nash

Hon Peeni Henare

Hon Michael Wood

Hon Kiri Allan

Hon Dr David Clark

Hon Meka Whaitiri

Dr Deborah Russell, MP

Hard-copy distribution:

Minister of Revenue

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for GOV Inland Revenue Department