

# Cabinet Government Administration and Expenditure Review Committee

**Minute of Decision** 

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

# **Inland Revenue Transformation Update: July 2020**

## Portfolio Revenue

On 2 July 2020, the Cabinet Government Administration and Expenditure Review Committee:

- **noted** that Inland Revenue is required to provide Ministers with six-monthly updates on the progress of its Business Transformation Programme [CAB-15-MIN-0249];
- 2 **noted** that Inland Revenue successfully migrated KiwiSaver and Student Loans to new systems and processes on 16 April 2020, largely remotely due to Alert Level 4 lockdown;
- noted that Inland Revenue's COVID-19 response workload means that the final stage of the programme will not now be implemented as single release in April 2021, thereby delaying the closure of the transformation programme;
- 4 **noted** that changes to Inland Revenue's organisation design are also being re-planned and will now be implemented incrementally during late 2020 and in 2021;
- **noted** that trade-offs may be required depending on any additional COVID-19 related work that Inland Revenue is asked to do;
- **noted** the potential implications for realisation of financial benefits, as outlined in the paper under GOV-20-SUB-0025;
- 7 **noted** that the next progress update will be provided to GOV in November 2020 and will include the revised timeframe for and, if necessary, costs of the transformation.

# Rachel Clarke Committee Secretary

### Present:

Rt Hon Winston Peters Hon Grant Robertson (Chair) Hon Phil Twyford Hon Stuart Nash Hon Kris Faafoi Hon Ron Mark Hon James Shaw

Hon Julie Anne Genter

# Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Office of the Minister of Revenue Inland Revenue Officials Committee for GOV