Skip to main content

Resurgence Support Payment (RSP) Businesses affected by the alert level increase that started on 17 August are able to apply for a Resurgence Support Payment. Find out more

COVID-19 - Our offices are currently closed for customer visits so we can support the government’s COVID response. We will contact you if you have already booked an appointment with us. You can still contact us and get help.    Contact us

On 11 March 2020 Primary Industries Minister Damian O’Connor declared the drought affecting the entire North Island, Tasman, Marlborough, Kaikoura, North Canterbury and the Chatham Islands to be a large-scale adverse event.

On 28 April 2021, Agriculture and Rural Communities Minister Damian O’Connor also declared a continuation of drought in the North Island, Marlborough, Kaikoura, North, Mid and South Canterbury, Otago and the Chatham Islands. However, Taranaki, Ruapehu and Whanganui Districts are no longer in scope of this declaration.

On 12 June 2021 Agriculture and Rural Communities Minister Damien O’Connor approved an extension of the drought relief to the Bay of Plenty Region (Western Bay of Plenty, Tauranga, Rotorua, Whakatāne Districts), Taupō District, Gisborne, Hawke’s Bay Region, Marlborough District, Canterbury Region, Otago Region, and the Chatham Islands.

To assist farmers and growers we are exercising discretion to allow late deposits and early withdrawal from the income equalisation scheme.

Income equalisation scheme

We have a range of support in place for affected customers both businesses, individuals and families affected by the drought. Businesses may be eligible for discretionary relief.

Discretionary relief

Individuals and families

If you have been affected by the drought, missed payment or filing dates or are struggling to deal with your tax affairs, please contact us sooner rather than later so we can help. The best way to do this is through your tax agent or call us on 0800 473 566.

Jump back to the top of the page